Blogs

Grant Permissions for Manufacturing SmartLists

When using Manufacturing in Microsoft Dynamics GP (both GP 2010 and GP 2013), people not assigned to the POWERUSER role are unable to see Manufacturing SmartLists by default - even users who are assigned MFG ADMIN and MFG_INQUIRY roles.

To grant permissions for these, you need to include them with a task. You can assign the permissions to whichever task you choose. I choose to assign different SmartLists to their matching inquiry task (INQ_MFG_XXX), in case custom roles are added for which there should be limited manufacturing permissions.

To add SmartLists to a Security Task:

1. Open the Security Task Setup window (Administration >> Setup >> Security >> Security Tasks)
2. Choose the Task ID for which you would like to add SmartList permissions
3. Select Product: Smartlist, Type: SmartList Object, Series: SmartList Objects
4. Check the boxes next to the SmartLists you would like to include
5. Click Save

The tasks to which I assign Manufacturing SmartLists:

INQ_MFG_BOM*
-- Bill of Materials

INQ_MFG_MO*
-- Manufacturing Orders
-- Picklists
-- Recorded Outsourcing Shipments
-- Sales Documents Not Linked to Manufacturing
-- SO/MO Link
-- Suggested Outsourcing Purchase Orders
-- Suggested Outsourcing Shipments

INQ_MFG_WIP*
-- Work in Process

GP Manufacturing Accounting Flow: Component Transactions and MO Receipts

In GP Manufacturing, the accounting flow for inventory transactions involved in a Manufacturing Order can be tricky, because they don't all follow the same logic. Below is a summary of the accounting flow for some of the basic inventory transactions that take place during the Manufacturing process.

Component Transaction Entry (Issue)
Issues raw materials to production/WIP:
-- Credits (decreases) the Inventory account
-- Debits (increases) the WIP account
 
To determine which inventory account to use, GP checks the Inventory account assigned to the Raw Material item.
-- If this is present, it will use the account
-- If it is blank, it will use the default posting inventory account
 
To determine which WIP account to use, GP checks the WIP account assigned to the Finished Good item that is being produced:
-- If the WIP account is present, it will use that account
-- If the WIP account is left blank, it will use the account assigned as the Inventory Offset account for the Raw Material item
 
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you perform a REVERSE ISSUE, which brings Raw Materials from WIP back into inventory, GP will put the Raw Materials cost out of WIP and back into inventory. However, if the WIP account of the Finished Good item is blank, it does not use the Inventory Offset account from the Raw Material item. Instead, it allows the transaction to post, leaving the WIP account blank. The resulting GL does not balance so it does not post, it has to be completed and posted manually.
 
MO Receipt
Completes production, consumes Raw Materials from WIP and issues Finished Goods to inventory:
-- Credits (decreases) the WIP account
-- Debits (increases) the Inventory account
 
To determine which inventory account to use, GP checks the Inventory account assigned to the Finished Good item.
-- If this is present, it will use the account
-- If it is blank, it will use the default posting inventory account
 
To determine which WIP account to use, GP checks the WIP account assigned to the Finished Good item that is being produced:
-- If the WIP account is present, it will use that account
-- If the WIP account is left blank, it will post the transaction without a WIP account and not give an error to the person posting the transaction. When it posts:
     - Inventory quantities are increased
     - An incomplete GL transaction is created, but does not post all the way through because it does not balance
     - The GL transaction needs to be completed and posted manually

 

Disabling Auto-Save does not disable Auto-Save - Dynamics CRM 2013

If you are familiar with Dynamics CRM 2013, than you are aware of the great new auto-save feature that was introduced with this release. By default, Dynamics CRM 2013 will auto-save the form you are working on every 30 seconds unless you increase the time-lapse period or disable the feature.
If you disable the auto-save feature while on Update Rollup 1, you may have noticed that the form still saves anyway. This is a bug that is corrected with the release of Update Rollup 2.
Copy and paste the following URL into your browser to view Microsoft's Knowledge Base article for UR2.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2919956

GP 2013 Crash on Navigation Lists

Some of our clients have been experiencing a Dynamics GP application crash when selecting a Navigation List.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: Dynamics.exe
Problem Signature 02: 12.0.270.0
Problem Signature 03: 5217d52e
Problem Signature 04: WindowsBase
Problem Signature 05: 4.0.30319.34004
Problem Signature 06: 5246811c
Problem Signature 07: 1432
Problem Signature 08: 17
Problem Signature 09: System.InvalidOperationException
OS Version: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.16.7
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 5861
Additional Information 2: 5861822e1919d7c014bbb064c64908b2
Additional Information 3: d1d9
Additional Information 4: d1d94a13d3609d6b740644c12508f581

I found this post from Donna Krizik that solved the problem:
http://www.crestwood.com/blog/view/dynamics-gp-2013-crashes-every-time-y...

Quick fix:
The Business Analyzer Fact Box was the culprit. I used the following script to turn it off and make sure it stayed turned off.

Use Dynamics
go

update DYNAMICS..SY07225 set FactBoxVisible = 0
go

CREATE TRIGGER
dbo.Update_SY07225_FactBoxVisible ON dbo.SY07225 AFTER INSERT
AS
Update SY07225 SET FactBoxVisible = 0
go

Unable to Save View Filters in Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011

We found an issue in Microsoft Dynamics CRM update rollups 15 and 16 when trying to apply filters to views. When adding any filters for "Related" records to a view and then saving the view and closing, the filter will not save. If you re-open the view to check for the filter you just added it will not even be there as if you never added in the first place.
It has been confirmed with Microsoft that this is a known issue. We are currently looking for a workaround for this.

Syndicate content